Sighisoara My Love

I discovered my favorite city in Romania – Sighisoara. It’s exactly in the center of the country, which makes it a little difficult to go there from Bucharest. The trip can get to 7 hours because the roads are not so fantastic and you have highway only between Bucharest – Pitesti. Plus some of the roads are under construction. But I like to be on the road so for me worth a trip until there.

The city center which is actually a fortress is magic, full of colors and little streets waiting to be discovered. It’s not big, one day is enough to see it, but you can also make a trip to the villages close the Sighisoara. Most of them are really wonderful, with colored houses and fortified churches. I saw Biertan and I wished for having some blankets to make a picnic in the middle of the nature.

The food in Sighisoara is not my taste, a bit heavy and not so good quality. The place I would say it’s ok the food is actually close to Sighisoara  – in Danes where you must follow the signes to Domeniul Dracula Danes.

Another pace I recommend to stop is Casa Cositorarului. You can stop there to eat some sweets from which I liked the Cooked peaches with ice cream. The terrace is very cute,  but if you choose to stay outside (during summer) don’t avoid to go in to take a look. It’s a particular style – a mix of vintage and old.

Where I stayed: to Hotel Sighiosoara. Rooms big, nicely decorated with wood and a good breakfast buffet made of hot things like omlette, fried eggs, and sausages/ cremwurst or cold plates as cheese, ham, yoghurt, musli, and the sweets things (honey, marmelade) also. I liked you can toast your bread and that you could have made in house yoghurt. Ask for a room at 1st or 2nd floor, they have bigger windows and larger rooms.

If possible choose an accommodation in the citadel, it’s so nice to wake up in the morning and watch on the window the colored houses, the charmed petrified streets. I saw couple of them around: Casa Saseasca, Casa Cositorarului, Casa Wagner, Pension am Schneiderturm. I wanted the last one but I couldn’t find it free. Also my hotel was good so I cannot complain. 😛

What to see? First, stop to the Info point (close the Clock Tower) and take a Sighisoara Map (around 50 cents/ 2 ron). Choose a map with the landmarks and just follow the map. I like very much the history  – how the city was organized in the handicraft branches – more than 20. You can find streets and towers for every branch. Also, the citadel was  listed by the UNESCO as a World Heritage Site.

Don’t miss to go to the Stairs landmark and go until up to the church on the hill. It’s a wonderful view and even it sounds creepy  – take a look to the cemetery. Another must do is to climb in the Clock Tower and have a great view over the city.

Enjoy the pics, for sure will make you want to be there. And are not Photoshopped!!  😛

Leave a Reply

