3 days in Kuala Lumpur

Petronas Towers

When I planned my vacation to Thailand, I took the flights from Bucharest to Kuala Lumpur because 2 reasons. One was the price – smaller than the flight to Bangkok and second, because I liked the idea to check on my map another asian big city. To be honest, I was having big expectations from Kuala Lumpur and maybe that’s why I was a bit disappointed. In the end, it’s a city like any other one, big buildings, a combination between shiny malls and poor neighborhoods. I had the impression something is missing from this city, or maybe I couldn’t find it. I also understood outside Kuala Lumpur the country is very beautiful and I am sure of this cause the landscapes in Asia are gorgeous.

What I liked:

  • Jalan Alor Street (local food street, close to Bukit Bitang street)
  • Petronas Towers
  • food court at pavillion mall
  • Little India
  • Starbucks is really appreciated: it’s everywhere 🙂
  • Victoria Secret shop from Kuala Lumpur airport  😛

What I didn’t like:

  • China Town. There is nothing there, just a street with the same products over and over again: bags, watches and clothes – cheap and poor quality (same as everywhere  – you need to negotiate)
  • Hotels. They seams to be old and they lack the high asian quality (I am talking here about the hotels under 100 EURs per night for which in Thailand I was more than satisfied of the quality  – also for 50 per night)
  • Taxis – they really try to fool you

Shopping:
Around Bukit Bintanng street  – Berjaya Times Square, BB Plaza -cheap; Farenheit, Lot 10 – medium; Pavilion KL – expensive; Low Yat – only electronics

Suria KLCC Mall. The Petronas Towers are there and it’s a nice green area.

Restaurants:

Bukit Bintang street, Food Courts in Suria KLCC or Pavilion, Jalan Alor street for authentic food (try the Durian).
Bars  -2 areas: Changkat Bukit Bintang and Jalan P Ramlee

To visit

If you are on a short stop as myself take the city bus KL Hop-on Hop-off Bus. I also went to KL Menara Tower to see the city from up (421 m -1,381 ft), to Butterfly and Orchid Park.

www.myhoponhopoff.com

Where I stayed:

First hotel was Parkroyal Kuala Lumpur with 67 EURs per night, 4 stars hotel – it’s ok, nothing spectacular. A small room, it’s in the city center, close to Jalan Alor and sky train and everything you need. My room had the “sink” inside the room and a small cube for the toilet. But if you cannot find anything better in the city center, Parkroyal it’s an ok choice.

The second hotel I chose (when coming back from Thailand) it was a bad choice: Hotel Sentral Pudu. It’s located in a bad area, not close to sky train or anything so I had to walk until city center. Around 20 mins. Breakfast was included in the price of 35 EURs per night but nothing eatable for non asian people. But it was cheap 😛

//Eli

View from KL Menara Tower

Petronas Towers

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

